The Essex Historical Society and Shipbuilding Museum has standing exhibits in our Orientation Center at 66 Main Street, outside on the grounds of the A.D. Story Shipyard behind the Orientation Center, and at our school house at 28 Main St.
The Orientation Center This former Story residence contains a diorama of the Story shipyard, admissions, video theater, gift shop, and Museum offices.
The Shipyard In 1993, The society purchased a section of riverfront where shipbuilding flourished for over 300 years. This historic site is where the Story family operated its shipyards from 1813 to the end of World War II. The yard is still active and showcases machines, tools, materials and boats.
The Waterline Center This is the education hub for visiting school and bus groups. Equipped with historical artifacts, tools, displays, and machinery exhibits, this large, multi-function room is also used for meetings, lectures, and concerts.
The Evelina M. Goulart Built in the shipyard in 1927 and used until the 1980s for swordfishing and later as a fishing dragger, the museum acquired the Evelina M. Goulart in 1990. She is one of only seven historic Essex-built schooners that survive. Her construction and history tell a symbolic story of the shipbuilding industry.
Essex Shipbuilding Museum
We are closed for the season. See you in April!
Group Tours and Field Trips can be scheduled week days.